Adams Prize 2017

Professor Graham Cormode has been awarded the 2017 Adams Prize by the Cambridge Faculty of Mathematics. The award recognizes his work on “Statistical Analysis of Big Data”, and is awarded jointly with Professor Richard Samworth of Cambridge. Professor Cormode says,

My work, in common with Prof Samworth’s, is about finding mathematical representations of data that allow useful information to be extracted effectively and accurately. These techniques allow ever larger quantities of data to be handled on ordinary computers.

Professor Cormode’s work on “data sketches” has been used in companies such as Netflix, Yahoo, Twitter, Google, AT&T and Sprint. He is currently leading Warwick’s involvement in the Alan Turing Institute at London, and working on questions to do with verification of machine learning, and privacy.

The prize is worth £15,000 and will be split equally between the two recipients.



The University of Warwick department of Computer Science was rated second in the country in the recent REF exercise run by the UK government.

The University is also one of five selected to take part in the Alan Turing Institute, a new venture designed to lead British research in Computer Science.  The department of computer science, along with Mathematics and Statistics, will lead the university’s involvement.

Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award

Professor Graham Cormode from the Department of Computer Science, has been awarded a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award.

The Wolfson Research Merit Award is one of the most prestigious UK awards, supported by the Royal Society, the UK’s national academy of science. The scheme provides up to 5 years’ funding after which the award holder continues with a permanent post at the host university. Jointly funded by the Wolfson Foundation and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS), the scheme aims to provide universities with additional support to enable them to attract science talent from overseas and retain respected UK scientists of outstanding achievement and potential. Professor Graham Cormode’s research will focus on “Small summaries for big data”.

The Wolfson Foundation is a grant-making charity established in 1955. Funding is given to support excellence and the focus of the award is a salary enhancement.

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world’s most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering, and medicine. The Society’s fundamental purpose, reflected in its founding Charters of the 1660s, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

(See also The Royal Society announcement; University of Warwick announcement).

Imre Simon Award for Count-Min Sketch

The paper “An improved data stream summary: The count-min sketch and its applications,” authored by Graham Cormode and S. Muthukrishnan, published in LATIN 2004, has been awarded the 2014 Imre Simon Test-of-Time Award.

The Imre Simon Award was created in 2012, with the aim of recognizing the papers published in LATIN which have had the most relevant and lasting impact. Since then, each edition of the conference awards a paper published in LATIN that is at least 10 years old, in order to assess its long-term impact in the area of Theoretical Computer Science. See for more information.

For more information on the Count-Min sketch and its applications, see the Count-Min website.

ACM Distinguished Scientist

250.jpgComputer Science Professor, Graham Cormode, has been named amongst the ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) distinguished scientists for 2013.

The distinguished member grade recognizes those ACM members with at least 15 years of professional experience and 5 years of continuous professional membership who have achieved significant accomplishments or have made a significant impact on the computing field.

The achievements of the 40 distinguished members have advanced the science, engineering, and education of computing, and highlight the widening role that computing plays in a range of disciplines and domains around the globe. The 2013 members hail from universities in Denmark, Japan, Israel, Italy, China, and the United Kingdom in addition to North America, and from leading international corporations and research institutions.

ACM President Vinton G. Cerf described the recipients as:

the problem solvers, prophets, and producers who are powering the future of the digital age. They are the driving force for enabling the computing community to change how we live and work. They demonstrate the advantages of ACM membership, which empowers self-improvement and inspires a bold vision for their own careers as well as their impact on the future.”